The Heartbreaking Beauty of Shared Burden

I’ve been trying to marvel at humans a little more lately. There is so much in the world to make me despair of truth and goodness. Maybe becoming more aware of the intense pain and brokenness of humankind is a side-effect of growing up, but it’s also incredibly heavy and discouraging. When it all feels like too much, I remind myself of this quote by our dear friend, Mr. Rogers:

“My mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.’ To this day, especially in times of ‘disaster,’ I remember my mother’s words, and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers-so many caring people in this world.”

I am not always good at looking for the helpers. I can become incredibly overwhelmed by pain and suffering and fear. And sometimes the emotional impact of that feels so isolating that I forget that I am not alone in feeling it. However, lately I have been working harder than ever to look deeper into the pain I see in the world and in the lives of those around me, and to see within it the intense love and selflessness that I believe must characterize humans just as much as our brokenness.

In the past couple of weeks I have had the honor to witness moments of this love and to watch people I know mourn together, care for others together, and beautifully share the burdens of being human together. The pain and love I see and feel in those moments feel so intrinsically linked to the heart of humanity and to the heart of God. Despite the hurt and frustration that this shared mourning results from, reflecting upon the love that inspires people to share in the heaviest parts of being with one another fills me with appreciation and awe for what we are capable of.

I spend a lot of time trying to figure out what I will do in life to add to be beauty of the world and to detract from some of the pain, and while I want to continue to do that, I am also trying to focus of becoming someone who simply lives beautifully and loves the people in her life deeply and without restraint, no matter what I am doing. The presence and connection we foster with people in our lives is so beautiful, even if it feels small. The burden of being human is large, and I am trying to let the beauty of sharing that burden with others loom just as large in my heart.

IMG_9424

 

Leave a Reply

